Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Spring Brook Audio
The Best Audio Books on the Web
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Biographies & Memoirs   Professionals & Academics

Life's Work: A Moral Argument for Choice


Life's Work: A Moral Argument for Choice by Unknown at Spring Brook Audio. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. In Life's Work, an outspoken Christian reproductive justice advocate and abortion provider (one of the few doctors to provide such services to women


Product Description

In Life's Work, an outspoken Christian reproductive justice advocate and abortion provider (one of the few doctors to provide such services to women in Mississippi and Alabama) pulls from his personal and professional journeys as well as the scientific training he received as a doctor to reveal how he came to believe, unequivocally, that helping women in need, without judgment, is precisely the Christian thing to do.

Dr. Willie Parker grew up in the Deep South, lived in a Christian household, and converted to an even more fundamentalist form of Christianity as a young man. But upon reading an interpretation of the Good Samaritan in a sermon by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., he realized that in order to be a true Christian, he must show compassion for all women regardless of their needs. In 2009 he stopped practicing obstetrics to focus entirely on providing safe abortions for the women who need help the most - often women in poverty and women of color - and in the hotbed of the pro-choice debate: the South. He soon thereafter traded in his private practice and his penthouse apartment in Hawaii for the life of an itinerant abortion provider, focusing most recently on women in the Deep South.

In Life's Work, Dr. Willie Parker tells a deeply personal and thought-provoking narrative that illuminates the complex societal, political, religious, and personal realities of abortion in the United States from the unique perspective of someone who performs them and defends the right to do so every day. He also looks at how a new wave of anti-abortion activism, aimed at making incremental changes in laws and regulations state by state, are slowly chipping away at the rights of women to control their own lives. In revealing his daily battle against mandatory waiting periods and bogus rules governing the width of hallways, Dr. Parker uncovers the growing number of strings attached to the right to choose and makes a powerful Christian case for championing reproductive rights.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Simon & Schuster Audio
Brand:Unknown
Publisher:Simon & Schuster Audio
Studio:Simon & Schuster Audio

Life's Work: A Moral Argument for Choice by Unknown

Buy Now:
Life's Work: A Moral Argument for Choice

Brand: Unknown
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$15.95


Quantity:  

 


 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Unknown, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Tantor Audio
Switching Time is the first story centering on multiple personality disorder to be told by the treating physician. It is the incredible saga of a young woman stranded in unimaginable darkness who, in order to survive, created 17 different versions of...

By Tantor Audio
Families are riddled with untold secrets. But Stephen Hinshaw never imagined that a profound secret was kept under lock and key for 18 years within his family - that his father's mysterious absences, for months at a time, resulted from serious mental...

By Tantor Audio
San Francisco's Laguna Honda Hospital is the last almshouse in the country, a descendant of the Hôtel-Dieu (God's hotel) that cared for the sick in the Middle Ages. Ballet dancers and rock musicians, professors and thieves - "anyone who had fallen, ...

By Hachette Audio
The New York Times best seller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man and his romance with a bar. J...

By Tantor Audio
Imagine hearing these words: "She has Alzheimer's." Now imagine that "she" is vibrant, active, loving, healthy...and just 55. Acclaimed CBS News reporter Barry Petersen writes about hearing the unimaginable; what it meant, what it still means, what h...

By Hachette Audio
"Early to bed, early to rise, work like hell and advertise!" These words of fatherly advice helped shape Ted Turner's remarkable life, but they only begin to explain the colorful, energetic, and unique style that has made Ted into one of the most ama...

By Random House Audio
In Thunderstruck, Erik Larson tells the interwoven stories of two men: Hawley Crippen, a very unlikely murderer, and Guglielmo Marconi, the obsessive creator of a seemingly supernatural means of communication. Their lives intersect during one of the...

By Novel Audio
An Amazon best book of 2016 in BUSINESS & LEADERSHIP  The never-before-told story of Pixar's improbable success.  "Hi, Lawrence?" the caller asked. "This is Steve Jobs. I saw your picture in a magazine a few years ago and thought we'd work togeth...

By Simon & Schuster Audio
A rare and fascinating portrait of the American presidency from the number-one New York Times best-selling author of Mrs. Kennedy and Me and Five Days in November. Secret Service agent Clint Hill brings history intimately and vividly to life as he ...

By Tantor Audio
Just two months before the September 11 terrorist attacks, Dr. Judy Melinek began her training as a New York City forensic pathologist. With her husband and their toddler holding down the home front, Judy threw herself into the fascinating world of d...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - springbrookaudio.com. All Rights Reserved.