Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Spring Brook Audio
The Best Audio Books on the Web
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Crafts, Hobbies & Home

No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Incredible Story of Courage and Survival in WWII


No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Incredible Story of Courage and Survival in WWII by Hachette Audio at Spring Brook Audio. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. The extraordinary tale of survival and friendship between a man and a dog in war. Flight technician Frank Williams and Judy, a purebred pointer,


Product Description

The extraordinary tale of survival and friendship between a man and a dog in war.

Flight technician Frank Williams and Judy, a purebred pointer, met in the most unlikely of places: a World War II internment camp in the Pacific. Judy was a fiercely loyal dog, with a keen sense for who was friend and who was foe, and the pair's relationship deepened throughout their captivity. When the prisoners suffered beatings, Judy would repeatedly risk her life to intervene. She survived bombings and other near-death experiences and became a beacon not only for Frank but for all the men, who saw in her survival a flicker of hope for their own.

Judy's devotion to those she was interned with was matched by their love for her, which helped keep the men and their dog alive despite the ever-present threat of death by disease or the rifles of the guards. At one point, deep in despair and starvation, Frank contemplated killing himself and the dog to prevent either from watching the other die. But both were rescued, and Judy spent the rest of her life with Frank. She became the war's only official canine POW, and after she died at age 14, Frank couldn't bring himself to ever have another dog. Their story - of an unbreakable bond forged in the worst circumstances - is one of the great undiscovered sagas of World War II.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Hachette Audio
Publisher:Hachette Audio
Studio:Hachette Audio

No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Incredible Story of Courage and Survival in WWII by Hachette Audio

Buy Now:
No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Incredible Story of Courage and Survival in WWII

Brand: Hachette Audio
4.1 out of 5 stars with 97 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$26.95


Quantity:  

 


 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Hachette Audio, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


The Lion in the Living Room: How House Cats Tamed Us and Took Over the World
By Simon & Schuster Audio
A lively adventure through history, natural science, and pop culture in search of how cats conquered the world, the Internet, and our hearts. House cats rule back alleys, deserted Antarctic islands, and our bedrooms. Clearly they own the Internet, ...

Dog Medicine: How My Dog Saved Me from Myself
By Penguin Audio
An honest and deeply moving debut memoir about a young woman's battle with depression and how her dog saved her life. At 22 Julie Barton collapsed on her kitchen floor in Manhattan. She was one year out of college and severely depressed. Summoned ...

Tell Your Dog You're Pregnant: An Essential Guide for Dog Owners Who Are Expecting a Baby
By Made for Success, Inc. and Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Do you have a much-loved dog? Are you expecting or trying for a baby? Does your dog know? Do you want to learn how to prepare your dog for the new addition? Tell Your Dog You're Pregnant offers a practical, intuitive approach for creating a loving...

Last Chance Mustang: The Story of One Horse, One Horseman, and One Final Shot at Redemption
By Tantor Audio
Last Chance Mustang is the story of Samson, a formerly free-roaming, still wild-at-heart American mustang that was plucked from his mountainous Nevada home and thrown into the domestic horse world, where he was brutalized and victimized. After years ...

How Dogs Think: What the World Looks Like to Them and Why They Act the Way They Do
By Tantor Audio
Best-selling author, psychologist, and world-renowned expert on dog behavior and training Dr. Stanley Coren presents the most informative, in-depth, fascinating book yet on dogs. Acclaimed for its solid scientific research and entertaining, eminent...

How to Argue with a Cat: A Human's Guide to the Art of Persuasion
By Random House Audio
Learn how to persuade cats - the world's most skeptical and cautious negotiators - with this primer on rhetoric and argument from the New York Times best-selling author of Thank You for Arguing!  Cats are skilled manipulators who can talk you into...

Soldier Dogs: The Untold Story of America’s Canine Heroes
By Blackstone Audio, Inc.
A leading dog-blogger offers a tour of military working dogs' extraordinary training, heroic accomplishments, and the lasting impact they have on those who work with them. People all over the world have been riveted by the story of Cairo, the Belg...

Believe: A Horseman's Journey
By Tantor Audio
From Buck Brannaman, best-selling author of The Faraway Horses, Believe: A Horseman's Journey continues to chronicle Buck's efforts as a catalyst and mentor through the stories of thirteen people with whom he has worked....

The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog
By Simon & Schuster Audio
In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a trou...

Being a Dog
By Unknown
Alexandra Horowitz, the author of the lively, highly informative New York Times best-selling blockbuster Inside of a Dog, explains how dogs perceive the world through their most spectacular organ - the nose - and how we humans can put our underused s...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2019 - springbrookaudio.com. All Rights Reserved.