Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Spring Brook Audio
The Best Audio Books on the Web
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
Home   Our Catalog   Crafts, Hobbies & Home

Soldier Dogs: The Untold Story of America’s Canine Heroes


Soldier Dogs: The Untold Story of America’s Canine Heroes by Blackstone Audio, Inc. at Spring Brook Audio. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. A leading dog-blogger offers a tour of military working dogs' extraordinary training, heroic accomplishments, and the lasting impact they have on


Product Description

A leading dog-blogger offers a tour of military working dogs' extraordinary training, heroic accomplishments, and the lasting impact they have on those who work with them.

People all over the world have been riveted by the story of Cairo, the Belgian Malinois who was a part of the Navy SEAL team that led the raid on Osama bin Laden's compound. A dog's natural intelligence, physical abilities, and pure loyalty contribute more to our military efforts than ever before. You don't have to be a dog lover to be fascinated by the idea that a dog - the cousin of that furry guy begging for scraps under your table - could be one of the heroes who helped execute the most vital and high-tech military mission of the new millennium.

Now Maria Goodavage, editor and featured writer for one of the world's most widely read dog blogs, tells heartwarming stories of modern soldier dogs and the amazing bonds that develop between them and their handlers. Beyond tales of training, operations, retirement, and adoption into the families of fallen soldiers, Goodavage talks to leading dog-cognition experts about why dogs like nothing more than to be on a mission with a handler they trust, no matter how deadly the IEDs they are sniffing out, nor how far they must parachute or rappel from aircraft into enemy territory.

"Military working dogs live for love and praise from their handlers," says Ron Aiello, president of the United States War Dogs Association and a former marine scout-dog handler. "The work is all a big game, and then they get that pet, that praise. They would do anything for their handler." This is an unprecedented window into the world of these adventurous, loving warriors.

Maria Goodavage, a former reporter for USA Today and the San Francisco Chronicle, is the editor and featured writer for one of the most widely read dog blogs in the world: For the Love of Dog. She is also the author of The Dog Lover's Companion to California and The Dog Lover's Companion to the San Francisco Bay Area. She co-produced and wrote an award-winning children's video about animals, starring the voice of Ed Asner.

Includes a bonus PDF with photographs.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publisher:Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Studio:Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Soldier Dogs: The Untold Story of America’s Canine Heroes by Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Buy Now:
Soldier Dogs: The Untold Story of America’s Canine Heroes

Brand: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
4.3 out of 5 stars with 259 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$10.95


Quantity:  

 


 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Blackstone Audio, Inc., contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


Believe: A Horseman's Journey
By Tantor Audio
From Buck Brannaman, best-selling author of The Faraway Horses, Believe: A Horseman's Journey continues to chronicle Buck's efforts as a catalyst and mentor through the stories of thirteen people with whom he has worked....

The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog
By Simon & Schuster Audio
In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a trou...

Being a Dog
By Unknown
Alexandra Horowitz, the author of the lively, highly informative New York Times best-selling blockbuster Inside of a Dog, explains how dogs perceive the world through their most spectacular organ - the nose - and how we humans can put our underused s...

Dog Man: An Uncommon Life on a Faraway Mountain
By Tantor Audio
As Dog Man opens, Martha Sherrill brings us to a world that Americans know very little about---the snow country of Japan during World War II. In a mountain village, we meet Morie Sawataishi, a fierce individualist who has chosen to break the law by ...

Let Dogs Be Dogs: Understanding Canine Nature and Mastering the Art of Living with Your Dog
By Hachette Audio
America's foremost authorities on dog care and training distill decades of experience in a comprehensive foundational guide for dog owners. No matter what training method or techniques you use with your dog, the training is unlikely to be optimall...

The Law of Superheroes
By Brilliance Audio
Could Superman sue if someone exposed his identity as Clark Kent? Is a life sentence for an immortal like Apocalypse "cruel and unusual punishment"? Is X-ray vision a violation of search and seizure laws? Is the Joker legally insane? And who foots th...

Excellent English Level 2 Student Book with Audio Highlights and Workbook with Audio CD Pack Language Skills for Success
By Brand: McGraw-Hill
ean: 9780078052057, isbn: 007805205X,
Excellent English equips students with the grammar and skills they need to access community resources, while developing a foundation for long-term career and educational success. Grammar-based competency instruction provides clear information and ref...

The Beginner’s Guide to Animal Communication: How to Listen and Talk with Your Animal Friends (The Beginner's Guides)
By Sounds True
ean: 9781591791096, isbn: 159179109X,
The ability to communicate with animals is not a rare gift, but a skill we all possess. On The Beginner s Guide to Animal Communication, author and teacher Carol Gurney brings nearly 20 years of experience in interpreting the language of animals to a...

The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning: How to Free Yourself and Your Family from a Lifetime of Clutter
By Simon & Schuster Audio
A charming, practical, and unsentimental approach to putting a home in order while reflecting on the tiny joys that make up a long life. In Sweden there is a kind of decluttering called döstädning, dö meaning "death" and städning meaning "clea...

Tell Me Where It Hurts: Humor, Healing and Hope in my Life as an Animal Surgeon
By Blackstone Audio, Inc.
From the frontlines of modern medicine, Tell Me Where It Hurts is a fascinating insider portrait of a veterinarian, his furry patients, and the blend of old-fashioned instincts and cutting-edge technology that defines pet care in the 21st century. ...

Scroll to Top


Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - springbrookaudio.com. All Rights Reserved.