Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Spring Brook Audio
The Best Audio Books on the Web
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   History   Australia & Oceania

The Bounty: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Bounty


The Bounty: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Bounty by Penguin Audio at Spring Brook Audio. SKU: VI-0142800295. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last.


Product Description & Reviews

An account of the actual events surrounding the legendary conflict aboard the HMS Bounty focuses on the court-martial of its ten mutineers, citing the breakdown and exile of Master's Mate Fletcher Christian and Lieutenant Bligh's navigation talents. Simultaneous. Surely this exhaustingly-researched, enthralling and enthusiastically-written tome is the last word on the most famous of all seafaring mutinies, that of shipmate Fletcher Christian and against Lieutenant Bligh on the Bounty. More than 200 years have gone by since the ship left England after dreadful weather kept it harbored for months, on its mission to transport breadfruit from Tahiti to the West Indies. The mutiny in Tahiti left the mutineers scattered about the paradisiacal islands and found Bligh and 18 of his loyal crew members set adrift in a 23-foot open boat. Bligh, who'd served as Capt. James Cook's sailing master, fantastically maneuvered the crew on a 48-day, 3,600-mile journey to safety. Caroline Alexander, author of The Endurance, is never in over her head even when weaving together densely twisting narratives, or explaining the unwritten rules of the Royal Navy, of the complexities of class and hierarchy that impelled much of what happened aboard the Bounty. The book centers far more on the effort to round up the mutineers than the actual mutiny itself. The book is enlivened by the colorful commentary of the crew members themselves, gleaned from letters and court documents. Alexander does us all the favor of presenting Bligh the way he was understood and received in his day--as a brilliant navigator who, when placed in context, was not a brutal task-master at all. She roots the tyrannical figure we know so well from the movies on the last-ditch efforts of one well-connected crew member to save his own hide from hanging. --Mike McGonigal

Features & Highlights

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Penguin Audio
Publisher:Penguin Audio
Studio:Penguin Audio
SKU:VI-0142800295
EAN:9780142800294
Item Size:0.71 x 5.82 x 5.82 inches
Package Weight:0.34 pounds
Package Size:4.98 x 0.78 x 0.78 inches

The Bounty: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Bounty by Penguin Audio

Buy Now:
The Bounty: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Bounty

SKU: #VI-0142800295
4.8 out of 5 stars with 17 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$1,431.66


Quantity:  

 


View More In Australia & Oceania.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


Snowing in Bali
By Bolinda Audio
ean: 9781743188699, isbn: 1743188692,
From the bestselling author of HOTEL KEROBOKAN or HOTEL K (UK title)  - about Bali's most notorious prison -  comes an incredible account of Bali's ...

Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii; Library Edition
By Blackstone Pub
ean: 9781481526364, isbn: 1481526367,
In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry,...

Batavia
By Bolinda Audio
ean: 9781743182314, isbn: 1743182317,
The story begins in 1629, when the pride of the Dutch East India Company, the Batavia, is on its maiden voyage en route from Amsterdam to the Dutch Ea...

Lost Kingdom: Hawaii's Last Queen, the Sugar Kings, and America's First Imperial Adventure
By Brilliance Audio
ean: 9781455849543, isbn: 1455849545,
First colonized around 200 A.D. by intrepid Polynesian islanders, Hawaii existed for hundreds of years in splendid isolation. Foreigners did not visit...

Sea of Glory: America's Voyage of Discovery, the U.S. Exploring Expedition, 1838-1842
By Penguin Audio
ean: 9780143058830, isbn: 0143058835,
America?s first frontier was not the West; it was the sea?and no one writes more eloquently about that watery wilderness than Nathaniel Philbrick. In ...

Kokoda
By Bolinda Audio
ean: 9781743183731, isbn: 1743183739,
In a unique and balanced portrayal, renowned journalist Paul Ham recounts both the Australian and Japanese perspectives of the events on the hellish P...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - springbrookaudio.com. All Rights Reserved.