Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Spring Brook Audio
The Best Audio Books on the Web
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
Home About Us News Our Blog Our Catalog My Cart My Account Track Shippment Contact Us
  Our Catalog   History   Asia

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution


Super Savings Item! Save 37% on the The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution by Blackstone Audio, Inc. at Spring Brook Audio. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. [Read by Stefan Rudnicki]On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true


Product Description

[Read by Stefan Rudnicki]

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction.

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman'sLife and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.

Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publisher:Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Studio:Blackstone Audio, Inc.
EAN:9781538478356
Item Size:3.75 x 6 x 6 inches
Package Weight:1.6 pounds
Package Size:5.39 x 3.58 x 3.58 inches

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution by Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Buy Now:
The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Brand: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
4.9 out of 5 stars with 21 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$64.95
$40.92
You Save: 37%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Asia.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Blackstone Audio, Inc., contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


ean: 9780061556272, isbn: 0061556270,
In sumptuous and illuminating detail Simon Winchester chronicles the extraordinary story of Joseph Needham, the brilliant Cambridge scientist who turned his eccentric genius on the study of China. In 1937 Joseph Needham fell in love with a visiting C...

sku: 091711-469-087a, ean: 9781565117273, isbn: 1565117271,
Covering the decade between his entry into the Pentagon and Nixon's resignation, Secrets is Ellsberg's meticulously detailed insider's account of the secrets and lies that shaped American foreign policy during the Vietnam era. Ellsberg provides a viv...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - springbrookaudio.com. All Rights Reserved.