Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Spring Brook Audio
The Best Audio Books on the Web
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   History   Asia

We Were Soldiers Once...and Young: Ia Drang--The Battle That Changed the War in Vietnam


We Were Soldiers Once...and Young: Ia Drang--The Battle That Changed the War in Vietnam by HarperAudio at Spring Brook Audio. SKU: 0924-WS0801-A01010-0060082569. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last.


Product Description & Reviews

In November 1965, some 450 men of the 1st Battalion, 7th Cavalry, under the command of Lt. Col. Hal Moore, were dropped by helicopter into a small clearing in the Ia Drang Valley They were immediately surrounded by 2,000 North Vietnamese soldiers. Three days later, only two and a half miles away, a sister battalion was chopped to pieces. Together these actions constituted one of the most savage and significant battles of the Vietnam War.The story of how these men persevered paints a vivid portrait of war at its most inspiring and devastating. General Moore and Joseph Galloway, the only journalist on the ground throughout the fighting, interviewed hundreds of men who fought there, including the North Vietnamese commanders. This devastating account rises above the specific ordeal it chronicles to present a picture of men facing the ultimate challenge, dealing with it in ways they would have found unimaginable only a few hours earlier. It reveals to us, as rarely before, man's most heroic and horrendous endeavor.read by Johnny Heller In the first significant engagement between American troops and the Viet Cong, 450 U.S. soldiers found themselves surrounded and outnumbered by their enemy. This book tells the story of how they battled between October 23 and November 26, 1965. Its prose is gritty, not artful, delivering a powerful punch of here-and-now descriptions that could only have been written by people actually on the scene. In fact, they were: Harold Moore commanded the men of the 1st Battalion, 7th Cavalry, who did most of the fighting, and Joseph Galloway was the only reporter present throughout the battle's 34 harrowing days. We Were Soldiers Once... combines their memories with more than 100 in-depth interviews with survivors on both sides. The Battle of Ia Drang also highlights a technological advance that would play an enormous role in the rest of the war: this was perhaps the first place where helicopter-based, air-mobile operations demonstrated their combat potential. At bottom, however, this is a tale of heroes and heroism, some acts writ large, others probably forgotten but for this telling. It was a bestseller when first published, and remains one of the better books available on combat during the Vietnam War. --John J. Miller

Features & Highlights

Additional Information

Manufacturer:HarperAudio
Publisher:HarperAudio
Studio:HarperAudio
SKU:0924-WS0801-A01010-0060082569
EAN:9780788754609
Item Size:2.75 x 6.25 x 6.25 inches
Package Weight:0.83 pounds
Package Size:4.16 x 2.64 x 2.64 inches

We Were Soldiers Once...and Young: Ia Drang--The Battle That Changed the War in Vietnam by HarperAudio

Buy Now:
We Were Soldiers Once...and Young: Ia Drang--The Battle That Changed the War in Vietnam

Brand: HarperAudio
SKU: #0924-WS0801-A01010-0060082569
4.4 out of 5 stars with 115 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$142.59


Quantity:  

 


View More In Asia.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by HarperAudio, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


Krakatoa CD SP: The Day the World Exploded: August 27, 1883
By HarperAudio
ean: 9780060743840, isbn: 0060743840,

This Kind of War: The Classic Korean War History
By Tantor Audio
ean: 9781400118632, isbn: 1400118638,
The fiftieth anniversary of the Korean War makes this an appropriate time to revisit This Kind of War, the monumental study of the conflict that began in June 1950. Successive generations of U.S. military officers have considered this book an indispensable part of their education. T. R. Fehrenbach's narrative brings to life the harrowing and bloody battles that were fought up and down the Korean Peninsula. Partly drawn from official records, operations journals, and histories, it is based

Fighter Pilot: The Memoirs of Legendary Ace Robin Olds (Library Edition)
By Blackstone Audio, Inc.
ean: 9781441736956, isbn: 1441736956,
This is the personal memoir of the legendary ''triple ace'' American fighter pilot and general officer in the U.S. Air Force, Robin Olds. A larger-than-life hero with a towering personality, Robin Olds was a graduate of West Point and an inductee in the National College Football Hall of Fame for his All-American performance for Army. In World War II, Olds quickly became a top fighter pilot and squadron commander by the age of twenty-two and an ace with twelve aerial victories. But it was in

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution
By Blackstone Audio, Inc.
ean: 9781538478356, isbn: 1538478358,
[Read by Stefan Rudnicki]On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction.The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman'sLife and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an

Secrets: A Memoir of Vietnam and the Pentagon Papers
By Brand: HighBridge Company
sku: 091711-469-087a, ean: 9781565117273, isbn: 1565117271,
Covering the decade between his entry into the Pentagon and Nixon's resignation, Secrets is Ellsberg's meticulously detailed insider's account of the secrets and lies that shaped American foreign policy during the Vietnam era. Ellsberg provides a vivid eyewitness account of the two years he spent behind the lines in Vietnam as a State Department observer—an experience that convinced him of the hopelessness of Johnson's policies and profoundly altered his own political thinking. As Ellsberg



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - springbrookaudio.com. All Rights Reserved.